Site Map Home

Adventure Rangers Advancement Trail

Every great challenge a young man accepts helps to build his character, increase his determination to achieve, and improve his ability to set goals and fulfill them. The Adventure Rangers Advancement Trail offers such a challenge in the Trail to the Adventure Gold Award. 

The key to progressing on the Advancement Trail is earning merits. Each merit has a colored border, indicating its color group. After completing a specific number of merits in the required color groups, the Adventure Ranger can earn one of the Advancement awards. For example, the Advancement awards leading to the Adventure Bronze Award are the Powder Horn, Bowie Knife, Tomahawk, and Long Rifle.

After completing each set of steps and a few other requirements, the three medals he'll earn are:

Adventure Bronze Award

Adventure Silver Award

Adventure Gold Award

Bronze Award
Silver Award

Gold Award

To download applications for these awards visit our RESOURCES page.


There are several ways to earn the merits on the Adventure Rangers Advancement Trail. Some of the merits will be earned during the weekly meetings, while others will require extra effort outside of meeting times. The merits can be earned in any order, and while the Adventure Gold Award has specific merits that are required, the other merits that are earned are up to the individual Ranger's choice.

For details on the requirements for the various merits and awards used in Adventure Rangers, follow these links:

Adventure Ranger Advancement Details
Green Merit Requirements
Leadership Merits
Bible Merits
Award Applications
2016 Advancement System Changes

Additional information on Adventure Rangers can be found in the Adventure Rangers Handbook available through the Ranger Super Store.